Aluminium packaging recycling in Germany

 


Alu DSD Fraktion 1401 1199In addition to material efficiency and perfect product protection, high recycling rates are an important contributor to a circular economy and the protection of resources. Aluminium is increasingly being recycled and kept as a secondary raw material in the material loop. Its share of aluminium production in Germany is around 60%, making it an indispensable component of the metal supply.


The collection and recycling of all aluminium packaging and aluminium foil containing packaging began with the entry into force of the Packaging Ordinance in 1991 and the founding of the Dual System ("The Green Dot"). Previously already cans or menu trays were collected by commercial and charitable initiatives - not least because of the high positive market value.


Nowadays, used aluminium packaging is mainly collected via yellow bins and bags from households, then reliably sorted out in high-efficiency sorting plants using modern separation technologies. Since the comprehensive implementation of the deposit system for beverage packaging in 2006 aluminium cans are being taken back in shops where the paid deposit of EUR 0.25 is refunded.


Al Getraenkedosen lose 919 796Moreover, used aluminium packaging is also recovered through industry solutions and other collection routes as well as through metal recovery from biological and thermal waste treatment plants. The achieved recycling rate is a top value in Europe.


The contribution to climate protection is relevant. The recycling of aluminium reduces the use of energy and emission of greenhouse gases by up to 95 per cent compared to primary production. The annual greenhouse gas savings are almost 500,000 tonnes of CO2 equivalents, based on the amount of recycling achieved.

Recycling von Aluminiumverpackungen in Deutschland

 


Alu DSD Fraktion 1401 1199Hohe Recyclingraten sind neben Materialeffizienz und perfektem Produktschutz ein wichtiger Beitrag zur Kreislaufwirtschaft und Ressourcenschonung. Aluminium wird in stetig zunehmendem Maße als Sekundärrohstoff wieder in den Werkstoffkreislauf zurückgeführt. Sein Anteil an der Aluminiumerzeugung beträgt in Deutschland rund 60 % und ist damit ein unverzichtbarer Bestandteil der Metallversorgung.


Mit Inkrafttreten der Verpackungsverordnung im Jahr 1991 und der Gründung des Dualen Systems („Der Grüne Punkt“) begann die flächendeckende Sammlung und Verwertung aller Aluminium- und Aluminiumfolie enthaltenden Verpackungen. Bereits zuvor wurden stückige Verpackungen wie Dosen oder Menüschalen über gewerbliche und karitative Sammlungen in den Kreislauf zurückgeführt – nicht zuletzt wegen des hohen positiven Marktwertes.


Über gelbe Tonnen/Säcke werden heute gebrauchte Aluminiumverpackungen haushaltsnah gesammelt, dann in Sortieranlagen über moderne Trenntechnologien zuverlässig sortiert mit hoher Effizienz verwertet. Mit vollständiger Etablierung des Pfandsystems für Getränkeverpackungen im Jahr 2006 werden Aluminiumdosen in Geschäften zurückgenommen und der Pfandbetrag von 0,25 Euro wird rückerstattet.


Al Getraenkedosen lose 919 796Zusätzlich werden gebrauchte Aluminiumverpackungen auch über Branchenlösungen und sonstige Sammlungen sowie über die Metallrückgewinnung aus biologischen und thermischen Abfallbehandlungsanlagen verwertet. Die erreichte Recyclingrate ist ein Spitzenwert in Europa.


Der Beitrag zum Klimaschutz kann sich sehen lassen. Das Recycling von Aluminium reduziert im Vergleich zur Primärproduktion den Einsatz von Energie und Emissionen von Treibhausgasen um bis zu 95 Prozent. Basierend auf den jetzt erreichten Verwertungsmengen betragen die jährlichen Einsparungen von Treibhausgasen fast 500.000 Tonnen sogenannter CO2-Äquivalente.